A Week In New York, NY, On A $365,000 Joint Income
Occupation: Engineering Manager
Industry: Telehealth
Age: 27
Location: New York, NY
My Salary: $175,000
My Husband’s Salary: $190,000
Net Worth: $650,000 (my husband owns an apartment which we’re renting out and we combined our finances when we got married)
Debt: $0
Paycheck Amount (2x/month): ~$4,000
Husband’s Paycheck (2x/month): $4,500
Pronouns: She/her

Monthly Expenses
Rent: $3,775
Mortgage: $905 for my husband, D.’s, mortgage not covered by rental income
Loans: $0 (undergrad for both of us covered by scholarships and parents. Don’t own a car.)
Internet: $70
Water/Electricity: ~$100 (depends on the month)
Netflix: $0 (mooch off of my family)
Cell Phone: $0 (we’re both on our respective parents’ plans)
Spotify: $17 (share with D.’s brother)
NYT Subscription: $0 (mooch off of his family)
The Wing All Access: $285 (paused during coronavirus, they will reimburse us the amount once quarantine’s lifted)
Superhuman: $30
ClassPass: $0 (paused during coronavirus, usually $29)
Rent the Runway Unlimited: $0 (paused during coronavirus, usually $170)
Patreon: $2.99 (shoutout CommentsByCelebs!)
Project Wren: $27 (climate change contribution)
D.’s Gym Membership: $60
Renter’s Insurance: $15
iCloud: $2.99 (idk what this is for)
D.’s Google Storage: $1.99
Disney +/Hulu/ESPN: $13 (share with our families)
Wealthfront: $250
Fundrise: $250
Savings: ~$2,000 (we don’t actively put anything away, our paychecks go directly into our high yield account)
Amazon Prime: $119 annually
Chase Credit Card Fees: $550 annually

Refinery29 Read More