A Week In Washington, DC, On A $72,000 Salary
Occupation: Analyst
Industry: Government Consulting
Age: 24
Location: Washington, DC
Salary: $72,000
Net Worth: Negative net worth as my student loans are greater than my savings. That said, for savings I have: $6,000 in my high-yield savings account, $3,004 in my 401k (I contribute 6% of every paycheck, which is the maximum that my company matches (25% match)). I plan to up to 7% after this promotion cycle. I wasn’t great at saving my first year on the job and am actively trying to save more now.
Debt: $26,513
Paycheck Amount (2x/month): $1,820 (exact amount varies based on deductions including 401k, health insurance, and $70 to my Metro Card pre-tax)
Pronouns: She/her

Monthly Expenses
Rent: $1,287 (I live with one roommate in a two-bedroom apartment)
Student Loans: $308 (All of my debt is student loans (all public) to cover what was not paid for by scholarships)
Utilities: ~$40 (my share of gas and electric, the building pays for water and WiFi)
Renter’s Insurance: $14.74
Spotify Premium: $9.99
Netflix: $12.99 (my mom pays for Hulu and AT&T TV NOW)
Phone: $75 (I send my mom $75/month to cover my phone bill, as it is cheaper than having my own plan)
Unlimited CycleBar Membership: $52.74 (my work pays for half, on-pause for now)
Apple iCloud Storage: $2.99
High-Yield Savings Contribution: $500
Donations: I do not have a monthly donation budget but usually end up donating between $200-$300 each month to different organizations/projects.
Therapy Co-Pay: $50 (I put this aside every month for therapy twice a month)

R29 Editors Read More