Emmys 2018: nominations, winners, and highlights

The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel was the biggest winner of the night.

The Emmys focus their recognition exclusively on television, with the major awards divided into separate categories for comedy and drama. The 2018 ceremony included a wry statement about the industry’s lack of diversity, a lukewarm opening monologue from hosts Michael Che and Colin Jost, a surprise marriage proposal, a few great red-carpet looks, and, of course, a lot of acceptance speeches.

The biggest winner of the night was the Amazon comedy The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel, which took home five awards: series creator Amy Sherman-Palladino won Directing for a Comedy Series and Writing for a Comedy Series, Rachel Brosnahan won Lead Actress in a Comedy, Alex Borstein won Supporting Actress in a Comedy, and the show took home Outstanding Comedy Series, one of the night’s biggest trophies.

There was no such sweep in the drama categories. HBO’s flagship drama Game of Thrones, newly returned to the Emmys (after taking 2017 off because it didn’t air new episodes within the eligibility window), was the night’s most-nominated drama. The show took home Outstanding Drama Series as well as the Supporting Actor in a Drama award for Peter Dinklage. Meanwhile, Matthew Rhys won Lead Actor in a Drama for The Americans; Joel Fields and Joe Weisberg won Writing for a Drama Series for The Americans; Claire Foy won Lead Actress in a Drama for The Crown; and Thandie Newton won Supporting Actress in a Drama for Westworld.

Though much was made before the awards of Netflix coming for HBO’s “total wins” crown, the two networks — the kings of streaming and premium cable, respectively — both won big, tying with 23 awards apiece when both the Primetime Emmys and the previously awarded Creative Arts Emmys were factored in.

Hulu’s series The Handmaid’s Tale, which was 2017’s big winner, didn’t win any awards at Monday’s award ceremony. Neither did NBC’s audience favorite This Is Us or FX’s critically lauded Atlanta. You can find the full list of winners here.