Instagram Is Changing How Blocking Works With Its New Restrict Feature

Update: Restrict, Instagram’s newest feature meant to combat online bullying on the platform, is officially live. It lets users restrict certain accounts so that the comments made by these accounts are only visible the commenters — and not the recipients of the comments or other users, unless approved by the recipient first. Restricted users also can’t see when you’re online or if you’ve read their DMs, the latter of which will automatically becomes Message Requests instead of going to the recipient’s inbox. So the restricted account won’t know it has been restricted. To enable the tool, you can swipe left on a comment, go to the profile of the account you would like to restrict, or opt in via the Privacy tab in Settings.