The Songwriters Hall Of Fame Only Nominated 6 Women — & It’s A Major Problem
This year’s nominees, who become eligible after writing songs for 20 years, include three female solo artists: Carey, Patti Smith, and Gloria Estefan. The Eurythmics’ Annie Lennox, country songwriter Kye Fleming, and Broadway lyricist Lynn Ahrens were nominated alongside their male co-writing partners. The other all-male nominees for the Songwriters Hall of Fame include Outkast, R.E.M, and Pharrell as part of The Neptunes with Chad Hugo. Those who are voted into the Hall of Fame will be inducted at the 51st annual Induction & Awards Gala in New York on June 11, 2020, according to the Associated Press
, who chose to
focus only on the men nominated in their report.